CPI of 8/1 is installed in Congress – 05/25/2023 – Power

CPI of 8/1 is installed in Congress – 05/25/2023 – Power

Congress installed this Thursday (25) the CPI of January 8, formed by federal deputies and senators, and elected federal deputy Arthur Maia (União Brasil-BA) as president and senator Eliziane Gama (PSD-MA), rapporteur.

Senator Esperidião Amin protested, however, against the creation of the position of second vice president to accommodate Senator Magno Malta (PL-ES). The agreement also includes Senator Cid Gomes (PDT-CE) as vice president.

Magno threatened to launch a ticket with only opposition names if there was no agreement. He went back on the decision of Senator Otto Alencar (PSD-BA) —who led the work because he was the oldest— to take the doubt about the position of second vice president to the CCJ (Commission on Constitution and Justice).

Eliziane’s name was the reason for clashes shortly after the announcement. Senator Marcos do Val (Podemos-ES) complained about the proximity of the senator from Maranhão to the Minister of Justice and Public Security, Flávio Dino (PSB-MA).

Senator Omar Aziz (PSD-AM) intervened in favor of his colleague, but Marcos do Val protested. Otto asked Do Val to remain silent and stated that the commission was not a police station.

The Lula government (PT) wanted the presidency of the CPI to stay with the Senate – where it has more support than in the Chamber of Deputies and has the president, Rodrigo Pacheco (PSD-MG), as a first-time ally.

The centrão parties, however, fought for the presidency to remain with the federal deputies and entered into an agreement to nominate Maia, one of the vice-leaders of the block of the mayor, Arthur Lira (PP-AL).

In a sign that the government would be defeated in the internal dispute for the presidency of the commission if it left for the vote, the leader of the MDB in the Senate, Eduardo Braga (AM), gave up his participation one day before the installation.

The government’s idea was to sign Braga or Renan Calheiros (MDB-AL) as president of the CPI. Despite this, Braga announced this Wednesday (24) that Senators Veneziano Vital do Rêgo (PB) and Marcelo Castro (PI) would occupy the two seats in the MDB.

The government preferred that the presidency be with an allied senator because it is the president who controls the day-to-day work. It is he who determines, for example, which requirements will be voted on, and who has the power to cut off the microphone of colleagues.

Leaders of Lula’s base in the Senate have been complaining, however, that the Planalto Palace neglected the January 8 CPI, and did not organize itself to prevent Lira’s centrão from getting the post.

Despite Lula being against the CPI, the number of signatures was reached in February, with support even from parliamentarians from União Brasil, which controls three ministries on the Esplanada.

The government was forced to support the commission last month after part of the Planalto videos were made public on January 8 — an episode that led to the departure of the GSI (Institutional Security Office) minister, Gonçalves Dias.

See who the 32 commission holders are:


  • Ana Paula Lobato (PSB-MA)
  • Cid Gomes (PDT-CE)
  • Damares Alves (Republicanos-DF)
  • Davi Alcolumbre (União Brasil-AP)
  • Eduardo Girão (Novo-CE)
  • Eliziane Gama (PSD-MA)
  • Esperidion Amin (PP-SC)
  • Fabiano Contarato (PT-ES)
  • Magno Malta (PL-ES)
  • Marcelo Castro (MDB-PI)
  • Marcos do Val (Podemos-ES)
  • Omar Aziz (PSD-AM)
  • Otto Alencar (PSD-BA)
  • Rogério Carvalho (PT-SE)
  • Soraya Thronicke (União Brasil-MS)
  • Veneziano Vital do Rêgo (MDB-PB)

federal deputies

  • Aluisio Mendes (Republicanos-MA)
  • Amanda Gentil (PP-MA)
  • André Fernandes (PL-CE)
  • Arthur Maia (União Brasil-BA)
  • Carlos Sampaio (PSDB-SP)
  • Alexandre Ramage (PL-RJ)
  • Duarte (PSB-MA)
  • Duda Salabert (PDT-MG)
  • Erika Hilton (PSOL-SP)
  • Filipe Barros (PL-PR)
  • Jandira Feghali (PC do B-RJ)
  • Paulo Magalhães (PSD-BA)
  • Rafael Brito (MDB-AL)
  • Rodrigo Gambale (Podemos-SP)
  • Rogerio Correia (PT-MG)
  • Rubens Pereira Junior (PT-MA)

Source link